Griquas survive Pumas' fightback

Winger Anthony Volmink scored two tries as Griquas beat the Pumas 37-29 in Kimberley on Friday. Griquas backed up their impressive victory against the Sharks in Durban last week, with an important win on home turf. They had to work hard for it, though, with the Pumas fighting back well in the second half. The hosts opened the scoring with a fourth-minute try to Volmink, with George Whitehead kicking the conversion and then adding a penalty. The Pumas got on the board in the 24th minute when they forced a turnover inside the opposition 22 and sent the ball wide to Morné Joubert, who bounced off Whitehead on his way to the tryline. Eduan Keyter ran the perfect line to score a try under the posts for Griquas early in the second half, with the Pumas hitting back immediately through Andrew Beerwinkel. Tries to Ewald van der Westhuizen and Andre Swarts gave the hosts a 29-15 lead, but Ryan Nell and Alwayno Visagie then crossed the line for the Pumas to level the scores with 10 minutes remaining. A Tinus de Beer penalty goal edged the hosts back in front and Volmink's second try, which came after a quick-tap penalty in Griquas' 22, secured the win.

Griquas –

Tries: Anthony Volmink (2), Eduan Keyter, Ewald van der Westhuizen, Andre Swarts. Conversions: George Whitehead (3). Penalties: Whitehead, Tinus de Beer. Pumas – Tries: Morné Joubert, Andrew Beerwinkel, Ryan Nell, Alwayno Visagie. Conversions: Kobus Marais (2), Chris Smith. Penalty: Marais. Griquas – 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead (c), 9 Zak Burger, 8 Neill Jordaan, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Khwezi Mona. Subs: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Johan Momson, 19 Zandre Jordaan, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Tinus de Beer, 22 Bjorn Basson, 23 Ruan Kramer. Pumas – 15 Devon Williams, 14 Morné Joubert, 13 Ryan Nell (c), 12 Henko Marais, 11 Etienne Taljaard, 10 Kobus Marais, 9 Reynier van Rooyen, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Carel du Preez, 6 Jeandré Rudolph, 5 Stefan Willemse, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Marné Coetzee, 2 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel. Subs: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Hilton Lobberts, 19 Phumzile Maqondwana, 20 Ashlon Davids, 21 Chris Smith, 22 Alwayno Visagie, 23 Morgan Naude. Photo: Steve Haag/Hollywoodbets Hollywoodbets